Sep 032014

Kurt Vonnegut.
Google Books

Hard for me to believe I have never read this book – so it goes.

Book Posts

  • Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut

  • Book Info

    Slaughterhouse-Five: The Children's Crusade: A Duty-Dance with Death
    by Kurt Vonnegut
    Publisher: Delacourt
    Published: 03/31/1969
    ISBN-10: 0440180295
    ISBN-13: 978-0440180296
    Started: 08/31/2014
    Source: Library
    Reason: NYT Top 100 List
    Format: Audiobook

    Publisher Synopsis

    Slaughterhous-Five is one of  the world’s great anti-war books. Centering on the  infamous fire-bombing of Dresden, Billy Pilgrim’s  odyssey through time reflects the mythic journey  of our own fractured lives as we search for meaning  in what we are afraid to know

    Author Info
    Kurt Vonnegut was born in Indianapolis in 1922. He studied at the universities of Chicago and Tennessee and later began to write short stories for magazines. His first novel, Player Piano, was published in 1951 and since then he has written many novels, among them: The Sirens of Titan (1959), Mother Night (1961), Cat's Cradle (1963), God Bless You Mr Rosewater (1964), Welcome to the Monkey House; a collection of short stories (1968), Breakfast of Champions (1973), Slapstick, or Lonesome No More (1976), Jailbird (1979), Deadeye Dick (1982), Galapagos (1985), Bluebeard (1988) and Hocus Pocus (1990). During the Second World War he was held prisoner in Germany and was present at the bombing of Dresden, an experience which provided the setting for his most famous work to date, Slaughterhouse Five (1969). He has also published a volume of autobiography entitled Palm Sunday (1981) and a collection of essays and speeches, Fates Worse Than Death (1991).